events about about NOISE archive support


NOISE, an ensemble of accomplished soloists committed to contemporary chamber music, presents energetic, engaging and intellectually stimulating concerts of the best chamber music written by today’s young and innovative composers from around the world. NOISE was founded in 2000 as the ensemble-in-residence with San Diego New Music, and now performs on the annual soundON Festival of Modern Music in La Jolla, California. NOISE has also performed at the International Festival of Chihuahua in Mexico, Adelphi University, Stanford University, the California Institute of the Arts, the University of Virginia, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, the University of California, Santa Cruz, the University of Maryland-Baltimore County, the University of California, San Diego and the University of San Diego.

...the young musicians of the soundON Festival of Modern Music 2010 possess charm and enthusiasm in large measure, 
as well as a high degree of performance acuity that makes sense of the complexities and puzzles that abound in contemporary musical scores.

—Kenneth Herman, review of soundON 2010 for, June 18, 2010


Lisa Cella, flutes
Robert Zelickman, clarinet
Mark Menzies, violin and composer-in-residence
Franklin Cox, cello and composer-in-residence
Colin McAllister, guitar and conductor
Morris Palter, percussion
Christopher Adler, piano and composer-in-residence


Sign up to receive news and events by e-mail

* required


Email Marketing by VerticalResponse

San Diego New Music
PMB 316
9700 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-5010