events about about NOISE archive support


CURRENTLY OPEN: THE FALK PRIZE, for students and young composers

DEADLINE: January 1, 2021

San Diego New Music is pleased to announce a call for scores for our digital concert series— Digital Doses. The winning piece(s) will be performed by a San Diego New Music artist on one of our Digital Doses concertsThe jury that reviews all submissions and selects a winning piece will consist of members from the San Diego New Music Board. There is no application fee. The composer of the selected piece(s) will be the recipient of a Falk Prize honorarium of $250. Please see below for eligibility and guidelines/requirements.

Applicants must satisfy at least one of the following categories:

  1. Enrolled in a high school in San Diego County
  2. Enrolled in an undergraduate university or community college in San Diego County
  3. Graduated from a San Diego county high school, and currently enrolled in an undergraduate program anywhere
  4. Any composer under the age of 21 as of January 1, 2021, who resides in San Diego county.

Guidelines/Requirements for submission:

  1. Must be written for an unaccompanied solo instrument 
  2. Suggested duration is between 5-10 minutes 
  3. We will accept pieces that have been performed/recorded before
  4. Submitting an accompanying recording is welcome, but not required
  5. Please submit composition (score and optional recording), a short bio, and a statement of eligibiliy (see above) in a single email to 
  6. Priority will be given to applications received by Jan 1, 2021
  7. There is a limit of one submission per composer

The Falk Prize is sponsored by a generous contribution from Julia S. Falk, Ph.D.

For questions/inquires/submissions email



Sign up to receive news and events by e-mail

* required



Email & Social Media Marketing by VerticalResponse